Premier League is a significant event not only in its country of origin – the UK – but on the whole planet, including the most popular sport casinos in the world. People from different parts of the world unite in front of the TV or laptops, waiting for their favorite team to pass to the next round and eventually win the whole championship.

If you are just getting started with soccer, and have no clue about different competitions, then you made the right choice to tackle Premier League first. After all, what’s a better way of understanding how soccer tournaments work, if not by exploring one of the most significant ones?

So, if you want to find out more about the Premier League, how it started, and how it looks like today, all you have to do is keep reading.

The Basics

Let’s start with the basics, shall we?

Premier League is the lead competition in English soccer – it’s as important for football fans as SuperBowl is for American football lovers. It all started in the 90s – the first Premier League was played in the 1992/93 season and consisted of 22 teams. In the 1995/96 season, it was decided to cut the number of competing teams to 20 – just like it is today.

The championship is held from August to May. During this time, each team plays with each other twice – once in their own stadium, and once on the other team’s stadium. This means that throughout the season, each team plays 38 matches.

To win the championship, a team has to gain the highest amount of points. Depending on each game’s outcome, a team can get 3 points (for the win), 1 point (for a draw), or nothing. If, in the end, two teams are left with the same amount of points, the verdict is based on the goal difference.

Three teams on the bottom of the list are relegated to the second tier of English soccer – the Championship – in which another three teams are promoted to take the place of the relegated teams.

About Premier League Championship As a Newbie

The Teams

In total, 49 teams have competed in the Premier League since the beginning of the championship in the 90s, with Brighton & Hove Albion and Huddersfield Town being the latest to join in the 2017/18 season.

While many teams have taken part, there are only six teams that have played in every season of the competition. Those are Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester United, Liverpool, Everton, and Tottenham Hotspur. On the other hand, only seven teams have won the entire championship:

  • Manchester United – 13 times
  • Chelsea – 5 times
  • Manchester City – 4 times
  • Arsenal – 3 times
  • Blackburn Rovers – 1 time
  • Leicester City – 1 time
  • Liverpool – 1 time

The Premier League includes three of the most successful English soccer teams in history, which we also mentioned before. Those teams are Manchester United, which won 20 different titles in total, Liverpool with 19 titles, and Arsenal with 13 titles.

About Premier League Championship As a Newbie

The Bottom Line

If your soccer journey is just starting, then choosing to discover more about the Premier League was a good choice. After all, why not start straight from the top?

The Premier League is definitely a very exciting tournament to follow – especially after comparing how many teams have played in the tournament in general, and how many have won. You never know what to expect – maybe in the next season, the winning group will extend to another team? Or perhaps another team will join the competition, making it the 50th team to take part?

The only thing that can tell us the answers to these questions is time, and particularly the next season. For now, the only thing we can do is wish luck to the competing teams. So, good luck!

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments